Background Image

Children's Ministry

Children and Communion

At what age can my child attend Communion?

Any age! United Methodists practice an "open table." We do not exclude people based on age or religious tradition.

We do understand that the concept of Communion is a tough topic (even for adults!). For this reason when the Communion servers get to children, they may not say the formal phrase "The Body of Christ ..." but rather a more age-appropriate phrase such as "This means that God loves you very much." Younger children are literal, and talking about the "body" of Christ and eating is weird! Instead, focus on this wonderful traditional ritual of our church. Help your child feel comfortable even when standing in line. Quietly explain what is happening. If you are going to pray after being served, prepare your child for this quiet moment by telling him or her, "Let's pray for a second." (But keep it quick for their sake.)

My own daughter called Communion "Snack Time" in worship. Not an altogether bad idea - it is a community of God's children gathered for a meal, just like in Sunday school.

Communion is taught throughout the years in the Sunday school curriculum as well as extensively during sixth-grade Confirmation.

Events for Children & Families
 
Mission Possible Kids

Empowering 1st-6th graders

Holy Week Services

April 18, 19, 21

Library Open House

Sun, Apr 28, 9:30 am - 1 pm

Children's Choir Spring Musical

Sun, Apr 28, 3:30 pm

Camp Big Church

Sun, May 26, 11 am - 1:30 pm

Kids Camps

Registration is open online.


Children's Ministry This Week


Children's Ministry Staff

Cheryl Bishop
Director, Worship, Children's Ministry
972.996.0136
cbishop@fumcr.com
Natalie Nenovich
Assoc. Director, Children's Ministry
972.996.0121
nnenovich@fumcr.com
Rohini Drake
Asst. Director, Children's Ministry
972.996.0129
rohini@fumcr.com
Cheryl Winnenberg
Administrative Assistant, Children’s Ministry, Weekday Kids at First
972.996.0120
cwinnenberg@fumcr.com
Melanie Jackson
Confirmation Coordinator
972.996.0129
mjackson@fumcr.com
Barbie Castellano
Childcare Coordinator
972.996.0120
childcare@fumcr.com

Our Location



Campus Map Find a Room

Connect with Us


Online Worship - Worship Live or Later | "More Than Sunday" Podcast | Scripture Cast

Photos - View | Upload

Mobile App - iOS | Android

Sign Up for FUMCR Emails

Current Magazine